Saturday , March 23 2019
Home / Politics / Re-run elections: INEC disqualifies fresh candidates

Re-run elections: INEC disqualifies fresh candidates

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released timetable for Senatorial and House of Representatives rerun elections across country.
The election body has also barred fresh candidates from participating in the contest.
A statement by the Commission’s Secretary, Mrs Augusta C.Ogakwu, fixed February and March for the elections even as it disqualified some candidates from partaking in the exercise . It said that only candidates and parties that partook in the March 28,2015 National Assembly/Presidential elections would be eligible for the re-run election.
In Abia , the commission disqualified the candidate of All Progressives Grand Alliance
(APGA), Mr David Ogba Onuoha . It cleared the candidate of Progressives Peoples Alliance (PPA) Dr Orji Uzor Kalu and that of other parties .
In Anambra, the commission disqualified candidates of PDP and All Progressives Congress (APC) Mrs Sharon Ikeazor. APC is only eligible to participate in the poll if Dr Chris Ngige, currently Minister of Labour and Employment , who contested the March 28, 2015 poll, would resign and vie again.
Similarly, INEC disqualified APC candidates in the Kogi East and Central senatorial zones . It however gave green light to other parties that participated in the first election to contest in the new exercise.
In Rivers state where the three senatorial seats were cancelled by courts , the commission cleared all the candidates that contested the canceled election. It equally cleared all the candidates for the House of Representatives seats in the state.
Giving reason for barring some candidates , the commission explained that since it is not a general election, it is against the Electoral Act for fresh candidates to contest in the re-run, emphasising that the same candidates and the political parties that contested the first elections should take part.
According to the notice; “Following consultations with major stakeholders in the electoral process and the public interest in the subject, the Independent National Electoral Commission at its meeting on Monday considered and approved dates for the conduct of elections as ordered by the Court of Appeal.
“Consequent upon the judgments of the court, the Commission will conduct the elections in 69 of the constituencies with the same political parties and their respect candidates who participated in the annulled elections in Gombe, Adamawa, Kaduna, Plateau, Niger, Benue, Nasarawa, Kogi, Taraba, Imo, Abia, Anambra, Bayelsa, Akwa-Ibom, Cross River, and Rivers”.

About Editor

Check Also

PDP urges Nigerians to defend their votes

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has urged Nigerians to come out en mass on election …

0 0 0