Sunday , May 16 2021
Home / News / LIVE UPDATES: Osun governorship election

LIVE UPDATES: Osun governorship election

Security tight in Iragbiji


The country home of the All Progressive Congress candidate, Gboyega Isiaka Oyetola in Iragbiji, in Boripe Local Government Area of Osun State  has been placed under heavy security as officials of the military, Nigeria Police Force, and others are tightly have been deployed to guard the home of the politician.

Every vehicles coming into the community are well scrutinised and screened by the stern security security.

Voting  has commenced and is presently on going,  as large number of voters are already on queue for accreditation. The card readers are working as no issue has been raised on accreditation yet.


Voting Commences In Osun Governorship Election

Voting has commenced in the governorship elections in Osun State.

Residents of the state  turned out in large numbers at the various polling units as early as 7am and accreditation and voting commenced at polling stations visited by our correspondents in the three senatorial districts of the state by 8am.

Activities at the polling units visited were peaceful with voters seen checking their names on the registers, queuing for accreditation before going to vote.

Beyond affording the people of the state the opportunity to elect their governor, the election is considered as a final test for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) before the 2019 general elections.

There are more than 1.6 million registered voters, and three 3,010 polling units spread across 30 local government areas.

The race is also a big one as there are 48 candidates battling for the top job in the state.


Police Arrest Suspected Vote buyers
A team of police personnel on election duty in Iwo Local Government Area of Osun State have arrested two suspected vote buyers.

Both men were arrested at the St Mary Grammar School in Elewe-Iwo.
CSP El-Mustapha Sani, who announced the arrest on behalf of the DIG in charge of the election, said when the men were searched, the sum of N604,000 was found on them.

He added that upon interrogation, they confessed that the money was meant for party agents and electoral officials.

The case is being investigated.

Ede South LGA, Alajue 1/2.At 7:26 The presiding officer introduces the electoral officer. He addresses the electorates about the time for the opening and closing of poll and further emphasizes the refusal to let anybody join the queue after 2:00pm. He went further to tell electorates on what ground they won’t be allowed to vote which are likely to be the use of a temporary voters card, electorates whose name isn’t on the voter’s register,if the card does not belong to the polling unit.

The assistant presiding officer stated preference would be given to the old, pregnant women and people with disability. An educated looking electorate however called the attention of the PO as regards the rendition of speech in complete English Language. The Spo VP then interpreted in Yoruba language for better understanding.

At exactly 2:37 pm at PU003,WARD10 NUD primary school,iree BORIPE LGA
Results are as follows:



2:33 p.m.: Ward 03, PU 005, Boluwaduro Local Government.

Total of 64 votes cast, with ADP=12 votes.
APC=17 votes.
APP=1 vote.
PDP=17 votes.
SDP= 16 votes.
Three rejected ballot papers.

2:33 p.m.: Ward 03, PU 005, Boluwaduro Local Government.

Total of 64 votes cast, with ADP=12 votes.
APC=17 votes.
APP=1 vote.
PDP=17 votes.
SDP= 16 votes.

Three rejected ballot papers.

Ifon Orolu Local Government, Olufon Orolu D (Ward 4), Bolorunduro II (Polling Unit 6) as at 2:50PM

197 Voters

PDP – 73
APC – 82
SDP – 26
Void – 7
PPC – 1
FJP – 1
APA – 1
PRP – 1
SME – 1
ADC – 1
PPP – 1
ADP – 2

PU 002 (VP B), Ward 10 Okin ni/Olorunsogo/Ofatedo, Egbedore LGA


*A* = 1 vote

*APC* = 46 VOTES

*SDP* = 79 VOTES

*PDP* = 39 VOTES


*ACD* = 1 VOTE

PU 002 (VP B), Ward 10 Okin ni/Olorunsogo/Ofatedo, Egbedore LGA
A = 1 vote

Results from Aare ward 4 PU 4 Ifedayo, Ife South.

1. PDP: 32
2. SDP: 57
3. APC: 98
4. NPP: 1
5. ACP: 2
6. PDC: 1
7. APA: 2
8. LP: 0
9: SMP: 1
10. PPA: 1
11. ADC: 2
12. ADP: 2
Rejected: 19
Total number of votes cast: 218.
Number of accredited voters: 406.
Counting ended by 2:35pm.

At Polling Unit 13, Ila Local Govt.
PDP- 38
APC- 41
SDP- 9
ADC- 0
Rejected vote- 6
Void Vote -1
Total vote- 98

PU 006 , DTC School Ikirun, Ifelodun local government voting point 2,

The voting Point election Results

PDP : 67

APC : 47

SDP : 18

PPA : 2

ANRP : 1

PPC : 1

UPN : 1

ADP : 19

ADC : 2

NNPP : 1

APP : 1

ADP : 19

YDP: 1

VOIDS : 26

Polling Unit 8, Ward 1, Odo Otin Local Government


PDP – 75
APC – 41
SDP – 14
AD -1
GPN -1
ADC -33
Void 4

PU 7 VP 3 ward 3 ife east local government has finished counting votes

APC 44
PDP 36
SDP 153

Share and Enjoy !

0 0

About Editor

Check Also

Why Bill and Melinda Gates separate after nearly 30 years together

Javier E. David Microsoft (MSFT) co-founder Bill Gates and his wife, Melinda, will separate after …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :