Friday , February 21 2020
Home / News / NJC probes 8 Judges for misconduct

NJC probes 8 Judges for misconduct


  • Recommends appointment of 4 Supreme Court Justices, 4 Heads of court, 18 others

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has constituted  a eight-member committee to investigate eight judges  who were petitoned  for alleged misconduct.

The NJC said the Committee will investigate eight (8) Judicial Officers from amongst the 35 petitioned  at both  Federal and State High Courts.

Some the petitions were summarily dismissed for obvious and manifest lack of merit, being subjudice, concerning administrative matters, or that such petitions were matters for appeal.

The dismissed petitions were those against Justice Adamu Abdu-kafarati, the immediate past Chief Judge of the Federal High Court, Justices Anwuli Chikere, H. I. O. Oshoma, Ayo Emmanuel all of the Federal High Court, Justice J. D. Peters, National Industrial Court of Nigeria, Justice S. E. Aladetoyinbo (Rtd), of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, Justice Opeyemi Oke (Rtd), Chief Judge of Lagos State, Justices K. A. Jose, S. S. Ogunsanya, T. A. Oyekan-Abdullahi, O. O. Femi-Adeniyi and D. T. Okuwobi, all of the Lagos State High Court of Justice.

Others are Justice Mojisola Idayat Sule, Oyo State High Court, Justices R. D. Harriman, A. O. Omamogbo, Michael Nduka Obi, High Court of Justice, Delta State, Justice E. N. Thompson, River State High Court, Justice Inaikende Eradiri, High Court, Bayelsa State, Justices N. B. Ukoha and B. C. Iheka of High Court of Justice, Imo State, Justices F. I. N. Ngwu, R. O. Odugu, Enugu State High Court, Justice Abdulkadir H. Suleiman, Bauchi State High Court and Justice Garba Abdulkadir of the Katsina State High Court of Justice.

A  statement by the NJC said that “Council also approved the recommendation of two (2) Committees earlier set-up to investigate Hon. Justice Winifred I. A. Effiong of Akwa-Ibom State High Court of Justice and Hon. Justice Bello Aliyu Gusau of High of Justice, Zamfara State which absolved them of any judicial misconduct.

Meanwhile, the Council under the Chairmanship of the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Ibrahim Muhammad has recommended the appointment of 22 Judges comprising four Justices of the Supreme Court and four heads of courts.
The appointment were made by the Council after its meeting of October 22 and 23 which considered the list of candidates presented by its Interview Committee.
Accordingly, the NJC has recommended the appointment of the 22 Judges to President Muhammadu Buhari, and the Governors of Edo, Ondo, Akwa-Ibom, Kogi, Anambra, Taraba, Abia, Osun, Nasarawa and Jigawa States, for appointment as Justices of the Supreme Court, Heads of Courts and other Judicial Officers in Nigeria.

The four Justices recommended to the president for appointment to the Supreme Court bench are; Justice Adamu Jauro, JCA (North-East Zone); Justice Emmanuel A. Agim, JCA (South-South Zone); Justice C. Oseji, JCA (South-South Zone) and Justice Helen M. Ogunwumiju, JCA  (South-West Zone).
The NJC also recommended the appointment of Justice John Terhemba Tsoho as the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court, while Justice B. B. Kanyip was recommended for appointment as the President, National Industrial Court of Nigeria.
Council equally recommended the appointment of Justice Esther Amenaghawon Edigin as the Chief Judge of Edo State just as Justice Eunice Aderonke Alade was recommended for appointment as President, Customary Court of Appeal.

About Editor

Check Also

Abba Kyari again! NSA says he’s reason military can’t defeat Boko Haram

National Security Adviser ,Major General Babagana Monguno (rtd), has warned service chiefs of Nigerian Armed …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :
0 0 0